Hall of Fame

New York State Writers Hall of Fame

The Empire State Center for the Book is committed to the book in all formats. Interests of the Center include the promotion of the culture of reading, literature, literacy, book arts, and book history throughout New York State.

The New York State Writers Hall of Fame was established in conjunction with the Empire State Center for the Book to highlight the rich literary heritage of New York State and to recognize the legacy of individual New York State writers. In 2010, the first induction ceremony into the Hall of Fame was held, and new members are inducted annually.

Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Harold Augenbraum, Executive Director, National Book Foundation
Barbara Genco, Retired Librarian, Brooklyn Public Library
Brian Kenney, Director, White Plains Public Library
Kathleen Masterson, New York State Council on the Arts
Ira B. Matetsky Esq., Partner at Ganfer & Shore
Christine McDonald, Crandall Library, Glens Falls
Stefanie Peters, Assistant Editor, Library of America
Charlene Rue, Brooklyn & New York Public Libraries Book Ops
Bertha Rogers, Executive Director of Bright Hill Press
Charlene Rue, Brooklyn & New York Public Libraries Book Ops
Rocco Staino, Director, Empire State Center for the Book

New York State Hall of Fame Members

Roger Angell (2016)
Maya Angelou (2016)
John Ashbery (2011)
Isaac Asimov (2015)
James Baldwin (2010)
Russell Banks (2014)
Elizabeth Bishop (2010)
Robert Caro (2010)
Willa Cather (2011)
Roz Chast (2016)
John Cheever (2012)
Ron Chernow (2017)
Mary Higgins Clark (2014)
James Fenimore Cooper (2013)
Hart Crane (2012)
Countee Cullen (2013)
Julia de Burgos (2011)
Samuel R. Delany (2016)
E. L. Doctorow (2012)
Frederick Douglass (2010)
Nora Ephron (2014)
Ralph Ellison (2011)
Edna Ferber (2012)
Paula Fox (2011)
Jean Craighead George (2016)
Allen Ginsberg (2015)
Mary Gordon (2010)
Marilyn Hacker (2013)
Pete Hamill (2012)
Alexander Hamilton (2017)
Lorraine Hansberry (2011)
Alice Hoffman (2014)
Langston Hughes (2010)
Zora Neale Hurston (2010)
Washington Irving (2012)
Henry James (2012)
Ezra Jack Keats (2015)
William Kennedy (2017)
Maurice Kenny (2014)
Madeleine L’Engle (2011)
Mary McCarthy (2012)
Alice McDermott (2013)
Don Marquis (2016)
Herman Melville (2011)
Edna St. Vincent Millay (2010)
Marianne Moore (2012)
Christopher Morley (2017)
Toni Morrison (2012)
Walter Mosley (2013)
Walter Dean Myers (2017)
Joyce Carol Oates (2012)
Frederick Law Olmsted (2017)
Grace Paley (2016)
Dorothy Parker (2011)
Suzan-Lori Parks (2017)
Miguel Piñero (2013)
Dawn Powell (2015)
Francine Prose (2015)
David Remnick (2015)
Lillian Ross (2017)
Maurice Sendak (2013)
Isaac Bashevis Singer (2010)
Stephen Sondheim (2016)
Rex Stout (2014)
James Thurber (2014)
Colm Tóibín (2015)
Calvin Trillin (2013)
Barbara W. Tuchman (2012)
Kurt Vonnegut (2012)
Edith Wharton (2010)
E. B. White (2010)
Walt Whitman (2010)
Richard Wright (2012)